Remembering MARQUEZ!

Standard

Apart from the magical realism presented by Marquez, I always keep in my heart some of his touching words that remind me of all the love one could ever have. I often break down to tears just with the memory of them…this may sound weird at least to some one out there…But it’s a truth…I am happy that I am NOT a giddy and giggly type of person/reader, but a sentimental and hopelessly romantic one who has both feet firmly fixed on to the earth…I fly…only if I decide to….

It’s true that I am not a voracious reader. Still, most of us tend to love writers as we fall in love with their characters, actually with the souls of those characters. Your guess (if at all you are guessing) is right, like many, I use to have nonfictional feelings towards fictional characters.

Marquez never dies!

Think of love as a state of grace; not the means to anything but the alpha and omega, an end in itself.

left-to-love

“If I knew that today would be the last time I’d see you, I would hug you tight and pray the Lord be the keeper of your soul. If I knew that this would be the last time you pass through this door, I’d embrace you, kiss you, and call you back for one more. If I knew that this would be the last time I would hear your voice, I’d take hold of each word to be able to hear it over and over. If I knew this is the last time I see you, I’d tell you I love you, and would not just assume foolishly you know it already.”

8c56d5822769f3081e42c3d8a4934bbe

He recognized her despite the uproar, through his tears of unrepeatable sorrow at dying without her, and he looked at her for the last and final time with eyes more luminous, more grief-stricken, more grateful than she had ever seen them in half a century of a shared life, and he managed to say to her with his last breath: ‘Only God knows how much I loved you’.

What matters in life is not what happens to you but what you remember and how you remember it.

RIP MÁRQUEZ!

5 thoughts on “Remembering MARQUEZ!

Yes, I am all ears...

